Five NACC Softball Players Named NFCA All-Americans

Five NACC Softball Players Named NFCA All-Americans

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — The National Fastpitch Coaches Association revealed May 24 the 55 players voted to the 2021 NFCA Division III All-America teams. This year's three squads are comprised of student-athletes from 41 different programs representing the NCAA's eight regions, including five representing Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) institutions.

Benedictine University junior outfielder Taylor Skraba (Hickory Hills, Ill.)headlined the NACC contingent with her selection to the All-America First Team. The NACC South Division Position Player of the Year, she compiled a 1.418 OPS and led NCAA Division III in home runs with 20 this season. Skraba collected 60 RBIs and had 72 hits and 72 runs, while hitting .439 with 12 doubles for the Eagles.

Full NFCA Release | 2021 NFCA Division III All-America Teams

Aurora University pitcher Hannah Tomasko, Concordia University Wisconsin pitcher Gina Followell, and Milwaukee School of Engineering catcher Jenna Trewyn were named to the second team, while Concordia University Chicago shortstop Becky Pieroni was named to the third team.

Tomasko, a senior from Virden, Illinois, finished the 2021 season with a 21-3 record, 11 shutouts and two saves. She had a 1.04 earned run average in 155.1 innings pitched, striking out 174 while limiting opponents to a .177 batting average. 

Followell, a junior from Romeoville, Illinois, posted a 14-3 record and had 191 strikeouts to her name. She has also posted a 1.11 earned-run average with four no-hitters and a perfect game in 2021. 

Trewyn, a freshman from Oak Creek, Wisconsin, started all 45 games for the Raiders this season, posting a .455 batting average with 66 hits, 27 runs scored, 14 doubles, a home run, and 54 RBIs.

Pieroni, a sophomore from Montgomery, Illinois, played in 39 of 40 games for the Cougars this season, hitting .419 with 52 hits, 14 doubles, four triples, 12 home runs, 47 RBIs, and 40 runs scored. She slugged at a .887 clip and posted a 1.358 OPS.

Each member of the quintet was named all-NACC this season, and accounted for five of the NACC's major student-athlete awards. Tomasko (South Division) and Followell (North Division) were named NACC Pitchers of the Year, while Trewyn (North Division) and Skraba (South Division) were named NACC Position Players of the Year. Trewyn was also selected as the NACC North Division Freshman of the Year.

Three schools — Alfred, defending national champion Texas Lutheran and Virginia Wesleyan — have three players each on the All-America teams. Both Texas Lutheran and Virginia Wesleyan placed two on the first team, and one apiece on the third team, while all three of Alfred's honorees were named to the second team.

The Division III All-America teams are voted on by a committee of NFCA member coaches representing the NCAA's eight regions. They select 18 players for each of three teams, unless there is a tie for a third-team slot, in which case the tied players are both awarded honors. All players recognized as All-Region players are eligible for All-America recognition. Due to COVID-19, no awards were presented in 2020.

First Team Name School
P Julie Graf St. Olaf College
P Cami Henry DePauw University
P Kennedy Carruth Belhaven University
C Jessica Goldyn Virginia Wesleyan University
1B Claire Fountain George Fox University
2B Sadie Erickson University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
3B Savannah Vargas George Fox University
SS Sarah Reinert Alvernia University
OF Taylor Skraba Benedictine University (IL)
OF Kelly Jurden Texas Lutheran University
OF Abby Mace Salisbury University
UT/P Alex Braun Emory & Henry College
DP or UT/Non-P Kenzie Dore Husson University
At-Large-P Hanna Hull Virginia Wesleyan University
At-Large-1B Angela Huepfel St. Catherine University (MN)
At-Large-SS Sarah Miller Case Western Reserve University
At-Large-UT/P Brooke Matyasovsky Eastern Connecticut State University
At-Large-DP or UT/Non-P Rebecca Snow Texas Lutheran University
Second Team Name School
P Jessica Wilcox Alfred University
P Sydney Goldman Brandeis University
P Gina Followell Concordia University Wisconsin
C Becca St. Germain DePauw University
1B Kaleigh O'Brien University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
2B Taylor Campbell Maryville College (TN)
3B Sydney Schultz Luther College
SS Ashley Lugo Alfred University
OF Cassie Woods Eastern Connecticut State University
OF Sarah Johnson Geneva College
OF Kelly O'Gorman SUNY Cortland
UT/P Riley Shields Alvernia University
DP or UT/Non-P Allison O'Toole Alfred University
At-Large-UT/P Emily Trotman St. John Fisher College
At-Large-3B Kaitlyn Hasty Christopher Newport University
At-Large-C Jenna Trewyn Milwaukee School of Engineering
At-Large-2B Hannah Garcia East Texas Baptist University
At-Large-P Hannah Tomasko Aurora University
Third Team Name School
P Brooke Stock Babson College
P Elly Novak College of Saint Benedict
P Ashlyn Strother Texas Lutheran University
C Brooke Wehr Moravian College
1B Lexi Szesnat SUNY Cortland
2B Kylee Bundy Pennsylvania State University, Behrend
3B Mackenzie McIntire Pennsylvania State University, Behrend
SS Becky Pieroni Concordia University Chicago
OF Samantha Schattin Stevens Institute of Technology
OF Annie Clayton Birmingham-Southern College
OF Grace Heath University of Mount Union
UT/P Olivia Howe The College of St. Scholastica
DP or UT/Non-P Anna Jackson Berry College
At-Large-1B Hannah Matthies St. Olaf College
At-Large-SS Alehia Tucker Mount St. Joseph University
At-Large-C Hannah Ritter University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
At-Large-1B Kaci Sherwood Wartburg College
At-Large-P Emily Seale Virginia Wesleyan University
At-Large-DP or UT/Non-P Tauryn Cummings East Texas Baptist University