Aurora Sent to Twin Cities as NCAA Tournament Field Announced

Aurora Sent to Twin Cities as NCAA Tournament Field Announced

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. --- The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee has announced the 48 teams that will compete in the 2021 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

Six teams have been assigned to each of the eight regional sites. All regionals will use a double-elimination format. Forty-two conference champions - including Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) Tournament champion Aurora University - qualified automatically.

The Spartans (37-6) will be the No. 2 seed in the St. Paul, Minnesota regional. The regional is set for Thursday-Sunday, May 27-30, and will be hosted by the University of Northwestern-St. Paul.

Aurora will face No. 5-seed Saint Mary's (Minnesota) at 2:30 p.m. Thursday, May 27.

Winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the pool play double-elimination championship at Perfect Game Field at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Friday-Tuesday/Wednesday, June 4-8/9, 2021.

Thursday – Sunday, May 27-30
St. Paul, Minnesota Region Hosted by University of Northwestern-St. Paul
1. Trinity (Texas) (28-7)
2. Aurora (37-6)
3. Misericordia (29-8)
4. Northwestern-St. Paul (32-10)
5. Saint Mary's (Minnesota) (29-14)
6. Johns Hopkins (11-3) 

Teams at the final site will be seeded to determine first-round matchups.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are as follows:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Rivers Conference Luther
American Southwest Conference Texas-Dallas
Atlantic East Conference Marymount (Virginia)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins
Coast-To-Coast Athletic Conference Salisbury
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Millikin
Colonial States Athletic Conference Keystone College
Commonwealth Coast Conference Salve Regina
Empire 8 Conference St. John Fisher
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Providence)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania
Landmark Conference Scranton
Liberty League Rochester
Little East Conference Southern Maine
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Salem State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Adrian
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth York (Pennsylvania)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Misericordia
Midwest Conference Illinois College
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Saint Mary's (Minnesota)
New England Collegiate Conference Mitchell
New England Small College Athletic Conference Tufts
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference Wheaton (Massachusetts)
New Jersey Athletic Conference Rowan
North Atlantic Conference Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference Denison
North Eastern Athletic Conference Penn State Harrisburg
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Aurora
Northwest Conference Pacific (Oregon)
Ohio Athletic Conference Marietta
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Lynchburg
President's Athletic Conference Washington & Jefferson
Skyline Conference Merchant Marine
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster
Southern Athletic Association Birmingham-Southern
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Chapman
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Texas Lutheran
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland
USA South Athletic Conference LaGrange
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Northwestern-St. Paul
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater
Eastern Connecticut State St. Thomas (Minnesota)
North Carolina Wesleyan Trinity (Texas)
Oswego State Washington University in St. Louis