Aurora's Purviance Earns 2019 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Award

Aurora senior outfielder Davis Purviance has named to the 2019 ABCA/Rawlings Division III Gold Glove Team. (Photo credit: Steve Woltmann) 
Aurora senior outfielder Davis Purviance has named to the 2019 ABCA/Rawlings Division III Gold Glove Team. (Photo credit: Steve Woltmann) 

Release courtesy of Aurora University athletics communications

GREENSBORO, N.C. --- Aurora University senior outfielder Davis Purviance earned historical recognition for the Spartan baseball program as he was recognized by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) when the organization in conjunction with Rawlings Sporting Goods announced the 2019 ABCA/Rawlings Division III Gold Glove Teams.

Complete ABCA Release

Purviance gobbled up the honor like he would a batted ball hit to his center field position and became the first Spartan to earn the honor in the 13 years of the Gold Glove Award being awarded by ABCA and Rawlings. 

On the 2019 season, Purviance played a masterful center field for AU, fielding all 136 chances to come his way cleanly with 129 putouts and seven outfield assists. He controlled the outfield for the Spartans while hitting .335 with 46 runs scored, 38 runs batted in, 16 doubles, seven triples and five home runs. These efforts helped him gather ABCA Second-Team All-Region honors along with the same recognition from and First-Team All-Conference from the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference..

The Spartans finished the 2019 season with a 35-11 overall record and made the 22nd appearance overall and second consecutive NCAA Division III Regional appearance. The Spartans earned their place in the 2019 NCAA Division III Championships after winning the 2019 Northern Athletics Conference Conference (NACC) tournament championship. 

About the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Award
The Rawlings Gold Glove winners have been selected since 2007 in the collegiate and high school ranks, featuring many future Major League Baseball players. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are selected by ABCA coaches committees at each level: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and High School.
The ABCA/Rawlings Award Program is one of the most comprehensive in all of sports, awarding All-America Teams and Gold Glove Teams in nine divisions of amateur baseball as well as All-Region Teams in five divisions.
The ABCA/Rawlings All-America teams date back to 1949 starting with one collegiate All-America Team. Other divisions subsequently added until the current total of nine was reached. The first ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were recognized in 2007, making this the 13th year the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards have been presented in the collegiate and high school ranks.
The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.

2019 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. III Gold Glove Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C A.J. Hunt Sr. Birmingham-Southern AL
1B Tyler Wise Sr. Birmingham-Southern AL
2B Danny Strohm Sr. Webster MO
3B Ryan Motter Sr. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps CA
SS Joey Zwak Jr. St. Scholastica MN
OF Davis Purviance Sr. Aurora IL
OF Cullen Motsinger So. Texas Lutheran TX
OF Jared Cantu So. North Park IL
P Jake Binder Sr. Ithaca NY