ABCA Names 14 From NACC to All-Midwest Region Teams

A total of 14 baseball student-athletes representing six NACC institutions have been named to the ABCA/Rawlings All-Midwest Region Teams.
A total of 14 baseball student-athletes representing six NACC institutions have been named to the ABCA/Rawlings All-Midwest Region Teams.

MILWAUKEE, Wis. ( --- A total of 14 baseball student-athletes representing six Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) institutions have been named to the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Rawlings All-Midwest Region Teams. The teams are voted on by ABCA members and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Division III All-America Committee.

NACC regular-season champion Concordia University Chicago led all league schools with six selections. Senior outfielder Connor Brandon and sophomore first baseman Brody Mariotti were named to the first team, while senior third baseman Bryce VanDuser, senior starting pitcher Adam Gregory and freshman relief pitcher Mike Tobin were second-team picks and senior shortstop Jose Mercado was selected to the third team.

Tournament champion Aurora University had three players selected - junior outfielder AJ Gill and senior relief pitcher Nicholas Mathey to the first team and senior outfielder Davis Purviance to the second team.

Benedictine University was the only other NACC program with multiple selections as junior outfielder Jack Feeley and freshman relief pitcher Ty Liaromatis were named to the third team.

Illinois Institute of Technology, Marian University and Rockford University each had one player selected. Marian sophomore utility player Sean Meyer and Rockford junior pitcher Zack Jones were second-team selections, while Illinois Tech sophomore outfielder Michael Courtney was a third-team pick.

ABCA/Rawlings All-Region first-team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. The ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division III All-Americans will be announced the evening of Thursday, May 30. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams for all divisions will be announced Wednesday, June 19.

2019 Midwest-ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Teams
NCAA Div. III Midwest All-Region First Team
Pos. Player Cl. School
C Graham Low Sr. Macalester
1B Brody Mariotti So. Concordia Chicago
2B Nick Schrader Sr. Wisconsin-Whitewater
3B Cal Aldridge Sr. Wisconsin-Whitewater
SS Ben Boran Sr. Bethany Lutheran
OF Connor Brandon Sr. Concordia Chicago
OF AJ Gill Jr. Aurora
OF Matt Piechowski Jr. Saint Mary's (Minn.)
OF Noah Jensen Jr. Wisconsin-Whitewater
DH Joey Stock Jr. Saint John's (Minn.)
UT Aaron Simmons So. Wisconsin-Stevens Point
P James Green So. Saint Mary's (Minn.)
P Jake Dickmeyer Sr. Saint John's (Minn.)
P Zach Pronschinske Jr. Wisconsin-La Crosse
RP Nicholas Mathey Sr. Aurora
NCAA Div. III Midwest All-Region Second Team
Pos. Player Cl. School
C Mike Aiello Sr. Wisconsin-Whitewater
1B Kasey Bass Jr. Wisconsin-Stout
2B Tommy McDonald Jr. St. Olaf
3B Bryan VanDuser Sr. Concordia Chicago
SS Nick Santoro So. Wisconsin-Whitewater
OF Ross Beumer So. Bethany Lutheran
OF Lane Girtz So. St. Scholastica
OF Jonathan Kelso So. Wisconsin-Platteville
OF Davis Purviance Sr. Aurora
OF Josh Moses Jr. Wisconsin-Platteville
DH Eric Pearson Jr. St. Scholastica
UT Sean Meyer So. Marian
P Zack Jones Jr. Rockford
P Westin Muir So. Wisconsin-Whitewater
P Adam Gregory Sr. Concordia Chicago
P Connor Spear So. Wisconsin-Whitewater
P Austin Ver Steeg Jr. Concordia-Moorhead
RP Mike Tobin Fr. Concordia Chicago
NCAA Div. III Midwest All-Region Third Team
Pos. Player Cl. School
C Nick Caldeen Sr. Bethany Lutheran
1B Luke Dahl Sr. St. Olaf
2B Grant Becher Jr. Bethany Lutheran
3B Brennan Schmitt Jr. Wisconsin-La Crosse
3B Dylan Blake Jr. St. Olaf
SS Jose Mercado Sr. Concordia Chicago
OF Michael Courtney So. Illinois Tech
OF Aaron Weber Jr. St. Scholastica
OF Jack Feeley Jr. Benedictine
OF Jordan Wilson Sr. Wisconsin-Stout
DH Carson Youngquist Jr. Wisconsin-La Crosse
UT Nolan Schoonveld Sr. Hamline
P Michael Kaska Sr. Wisconsin-Whitewater
P Ty Syverson Jr. Concordia-Moorhead
P Grant Taival Fr. St. Scholastica
P Matt O'Sullivan So. Wisconsin-Whitewater
RP Ty Liaromatis Fr. Benedictine
Midwest Position Player of the Year: Cal Aldridge, Sr., 3B, Wisconsin-Whitewater
Midwest Pitcher of the Year: James Green, So., St. Mary's